Why people are deleting their Facebook and you should do the same

If you still own a Facebook account, you are apparently living in the past. After a recent privacy scandal causing 78 million Facebook users to have their private data shared around the world, and abused for political reasons, problems involving the once popular social network are piling up.

The most recent shocking event involves the team of Facebook attempting to convince hospitals to share their patients health information with the site, causing a new outrage among (former) users of the social goliath. Facebook began speaking with hospitals last year about the possibility of matching anonymized user profiles with health data, but the news leaked last week.

Meanwhile a huge online movement called #DeleteFacebook is convincing millions of Facebook victims to delete their accounts and to never come back, something that has caused a loss on the stock market of over 110 billion in value. The movement is active on many locations on the internet and is becoming more popular fast. It is now estimated that at least 1/3 of all individuals active in the tech world have deleted their Facebook or are planning to do this.

The #DeleteFacebook movement suddenly received a big boost, and became a lot larger, when celebrities like Elon Musk, Will Ferrell and Cher attached themselves to it. After whistleblowers like Edward Snowden and Julian Assange expressed their support as well, the cat was out of the bag.

So what are the main reasons you should consider deleting your Facebook account?

1: The social network saves all the images and videos you send on it. Even if it is done in private chats. They then share this content with different companies and partners around the world. This means your private material at this moment could have been watched by millions of people on the planet.

2: Facebook has been caught recording your text messages and your phone calls. They also keep meta data showing exactly who you call, when and for how long, this data includes the full information and phone numbers of your contacts. Even if your contacts are later deleted from your phone, Facebook still records it all. They do the same thing for text messages, logging everything. And again this is shared with all their partners around the world, or pretty much anyone who pays for it.

3: Facebook has been censoring activists, dissidents and hacktivists for years causing it to become a bubble of disinfo and reactionary political speech, where advertisers and media are feeding you with information that is not only destructive for your brain, it also harms your quest for knowledge.

Why should you delete Facebook now instead of trying to change it? The website collected a lot of data about you. The terms and conditions are carefully constructed to make it look like you agree to this. The only option you have now is to delete your account, effectively cancelling your agreement. This means they can no longer sell your data. We believe this is your only option if you want to avoid further damage to your private life.